Smokey Quiche

Recently, Sam and I have gotten a chance to celebrate quite a bit- both of us got new jobs!  Yay!  Before I begin my new position, I’ve taken 2 weeks off to enjoy myself.  I flew to Chicago for a couple of days (where it was freezing!), while Sam stayed here in DC.  While I was gone, he made this amazing quiche- luckily, he left me a couple of pieces to enjoy once I came back.  He offered to share this delicious recipe with all of you:

I love quiche, but the classic Quiche Lorraine is a bit bland for my taste.  I’ve taken the basis of quiche, and put my own spin on it.  It’s super easy to make and sure to please.

Sam’s Smokey Quiche

1 frozen piecrust
4 eggs
¾ cup half and half
20 oz. smoked bacon
8 oz. smoked gruyere cheese, shredded
(smoked cheddar or smoked edam work here too)
2-3 jalapeno peppers, diced
½ tsp salt
½ tsp pepper
½ tsp crushed red pepper (optional)

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Meanwhile, cook the bacon in a skillet or fry pan until crispy.  When bacon is done, let it rest on paper towels to soak up some of the grease, then roughly chop when cool.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the cooked bacon with the remaining ingredients, and mix until the egg yolks are broken and well incorporated.  Pour mixture into pie crust, ensuring that it spreads evenly.

Put the filled pie on top of a cookie sheet (in case of spillage) and put into the oven for 40-50 minutes until the top is golden grown and a toothpick comes out clean from the center. That’s it! Serves 4-6 people.

2 responses to “Smokey Quiche

  1. Pingback: Monthly Review: February 2013 | Fifthfloorkitchen's Blog

  2. Pingback: Monthly Review: April 2013 | Fifthfloorkitchen's Blog

Leave a Reply

